Tag Archives: prize

The 2015 Breakthrough Prize for the accelerated universe

The discovery of the accelerated universe keeps receiving a well deserved attention. On November 9, the Breakthrough Prize Foundation announced the recipients of the 2015 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, and all members of the Supernova Cosmology Project and the High-z Supernova Team were awarded the prize “for the most unexpected discovery that the expansion of the universe is accelerating, rather than slowing as had been long assumed.”
Nobel laureates Saul Perlmutter, Brian P. Schmidt, and Adam Riess received the prize in behalf of their collaborations, 3 million US dollars to be shared with 51 team members.

Ariel Goobar
Prof. Ariel Goobar
We gratulate Oskar Klein Centre member Ariel Goobar which is one of the recipient of the prize, and all other team members

Supernova Cosmology Project Team Breakthrough Prize winners: Greg Aldering, Brian J. Boyle, Patricia G. Castro, Warrick J. Couch, Susana Deustua, Richard S. Ellis, Sebastien Fabbro, Alexei V. Filippenko, Andrew S. Fruchter, Ariel Goobar, Donald E. Groom, Isobel M. Hook, Mike Irwin, Alex G. Kim, Matthew Y. Kim, Robert A. Knop, Julia C. Lee, Chris Lidman, Thomas Matheson, Richard G. McMahon, Richard Muller, Heidi J. M. Newberg, Peter Nugent, Nelson J. Nunes, Reynald Pain, Nino Panagia, Carl R. Pennypacker, Robert Quimby, Pilar Ruiz-Lapuente, Bradley E. Schaefer and Nicholas Walton.
High-Z Supernova Search Team Breakthrough Prize winners: Peter Challis, Alejandro Clocchiatti, Alan Diercks, Alexei V. Filippenko, Peter M. Garnavich, Ron L. Gilliland, Craig J. Hogan, Saurabh Jha, Robert P. Kirshner, Bruno Leibundgut, Mark M. Phillips, David Reiss, R. Chris Smith, Jason Spyromilio, Christopher Stubbs, Nicholas B. Suntzeff and John Tonry.

The annual Breakthrough Prizes in fundamental physics, life sciences and mathematics, are sponsored by Google co-founder Sergey Brin and his wife, Anne Wojcicki, a founder of the genetics company 23andMe; Alibaba Group founder Jack Ma and his wife, Cathy Zhang; Russian entrepreneur and venture capitalist Yuri Milner and his wife, Julia; and Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg and his wife, Priscilla Chan. The goal is to celebrate scientists and generate excitement about the pursuit of science as a career. [1]

The discovery of the acceleration of the universe is an unprecedented breakthrough that marked the direction for all research in modern cosmology, and it was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2011.

If you want to know more about the work done by the two teams check the -behind the scenes video. Unfortunately the quality is not the best, but it is still interesting to hear all the stories told by both team members while in Stockholm for receiving the Nobel Prize back in 2011.

H.M. The King’s Medal to Lars Bergström

We are honored to announce that today, June 14 Lars Bergström, director of the Oskar Klein Centre, will receive H.M. The King’s Medal for significant contributions to Swedish research, including his work as secretary of the Academy of Sciences Nobel Committee for Physics. The ceremony will happen at the Royal Palace at 15:00.
From the Royal official website we learn that H.M. The King’s Medal (1850s) is presented to Swedish and foreign citizens for special merit and to officials of the Royal Court for long and faithful service.
This medal is combined with chain or ribbon and there are both gold and silver versions in various sizes.

Here you can read the complete list of people that will receive the medal today.
Congratulations Lars!