Hiranya Peiris receives Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize

The Institute of Physics (UK) has decided to select Professor Hiranya Peiris as Award Winner of 2018 Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize. The Institute of Physics Awards 'aim to build and reinforce a sense of community by recognising and rewarding excellence in individuals and teams who have made a contribution to physics in the UK and Ireland’. The Fred Hoyle Prize is given ‘for distinguished contributions to astrophysics, gravitational physics or cosmology’.
Prof. Hiranya Peiris
Hiranya Peiris was recruited … Continue Reading ››

Två nya professorer vid Fysikum

Rektor har beslutat att anställa Iuliana Toma-Dasu och Henning Zettergren som professorer vid Fysikum vid Stockholms universitet från och med den 1 juli 2018. Beslutet är fattat efter deras ansökan om befordran. Iuliana Toma-Dasu kommer från Rumänien där hon erhöll sin masterexamen. Hon flyttade sedan till Umeå och påbörjade forskarutbildning inom medicinsk strålningsfysik vid Umeå universitet. Hon disputerade 2005 med avhandlingen “Theoretical modelling of tumour oxygenation and influences on treatment outcome”. Parallellt fullgjorde hon kurser för att bli certifierad sjukhusfysiker. Hon flyttade till Continue Reading ››

Antimatter spectroscopy

First measurements of the line-shape of the 1s-2s in the antihydrogen atom are reported in a paper published in Nature, by the ALPHA collaboration, where Fysikum is a partner. The line shape agrees with ordinary hydrogen to a relative precision of 2x10-12, and thus puts an upper limit to the possible violation of matter-antimatter symmetries.
Photo © CERN
In the history of modern physics, the hydrogen atom has played a central role. Starting with the … Continue Reading ››

Emma Andersson receives a prize for pedagogical innovation

The Center for University Teacher Education and the Stockholm University Student Union together organize a contest for students about how learning and teaching at university education can be improved. Emma Andersson, PhD at the Department of Physics, has presented one of the three projects awarded this years prize.
The three recipients of the prize are Cecilia Sandin, Emma Andersson and Linnea Östensson.
We asked Emma to tell us more about the project she presented.

How did you get your idea?

I felt there … Continue Reading ››

Science meetup på Fysikum

Under sportlovet anordnade Fysikum, Vetenskapens hus och Kungliga vetenskapsakademien en så kallad ” Science meetup” som riktar sig till gymnasieelever och främst till nyanlända ungdomar. Idén bakom projektet är att hjälpa de nyanlända ungdomarna in i det svenska samhället genom interaktion med svenska ungdomar.